Smarteam “Lock” Feature

Definition : Only an object explicitly assigned Check Out or New Release will be checked out. The configurations referring to the checked out object will be locked. Other users cannot checkout the locked configurations but can only copy them.

Example : A solidworks part with 2 configurations – "Default" and "Flat_pattern" is in released state. "joe" needs to modify the part.

1. Login as user "joe"
2. In the "new release" lifecycle screen below, on clicking OK,  Default configuration will be "new released" and flat_pattern will be copied. (see fig.1)
3. When user  "ann" wants to make changes to "Flat_pattern" configuration – the option to check-out will be grayed out. "ann" can still copy the part. (see fig.2)

The "Lock" option gives "joe" total control on his part and its configurations until he performs "check-in" or "release" operation.

1_5 2_3

4 comments on “Smarteam “Lock” Feature

  1. I believe Azeem is just trying to show how the lock feature works in SmarTeam.
    In SmarTeam, all configurations get a profile card (Unless you are not using the configurations option). Ordinarily though, we would set up the fat pattern as a “Simplified” Configuration. A simplified configuration is overlooked by SmarTeam and would not get a profile card.
    So, in a long winded way of answering your question, you normally would not save the flat pattern in SmarTeam. He was just using it for demonstration purposes.

  2. “Smarteam client components” facilitates the interaction between CATIA and Smarteam Web Products.
    Please refer to FAQ 607 in smarteam’s support site for additional information.

Leave a Reply